sfSoundSeries next

Monday, February 28, 2005, 8 pm
ODC Theater
3153 17th Street (at Shotwell)
admission $12 ($10 student/senior)

Special guest virtuoso-violinist Mark Menzies joins us for a survey of thirty-five years of new music from Germany, starting with Karlheinz Stockhausen's Kurzwellen for instrumentalists with shortwave radios and electronics. Also featured are works by Mathias Spahlinger, Olga Neuwirth, Helmut Lachenmann, and Bay Area resident Philipp Blume.


Karlheinz Stockhausen / Kurzwellen (1969) for six performers
Mathias Spahlinger / 128 fulfilled instants (1976) for voice, clarinet, and cello
Helmut Lachenmann / Toccatina (1986) for violin
Olga Neuwirth / Quasare/Pulsare (1996) for violin and piano
Philipp Blume / Collaboraxiom (2000) for trumpet and vibraphone


Mark Menzies - violin

David Bithell - trumpet, electronics
Kyle Bruckmann - oboe, electronics
Christopher Burns - electronics
Christopher Froh - percussion
Karen Hall - soprano
ma++ ingalls - clarinet, electronics
Christopher Jones - piano
Mark Menzies - violin
Monica Scott - cello

[bullet] main | concerts | musicians | history | sponsors | contact

Copyright © 2003-2005 sfSoundSeries. All rights reserved.