Saturday, September 25, 2004, 8:00 pm
Community Music Center
544 Capp Street (between 20th and 21st in the Mission)
admission $10

Our final concert of the 2004 summer sfSoundSeries presents a variety of approaches to contemporary music:

Iannis Xenakis' Epei (for english horn, clarinet, trumpet, 2 trombones and double bass) uses precise notation to create a dense, raucous music. Freedom and organization collide in Christopher Burns' Maxwell's Demon, with a conductor providing tightly scripted time-lengths to a group of improvising musicians. Swiss composer Klaus Huber's Schattenblätter for piano and clarinet provides a moment of reflection with a more traditional approach. Continuing our ongoing reinterpretation project, Morton Feldman's Three Voices is reworked into a new realization for 6 instruments.

Plus, we present two world premieres: a new trombone solo by Japanese-German composer Shigeru Kan-no performed by Jennifer Baker
and a new collaboratively-composed improvisational work by the sfSoundGroup.


David Arend - bass
Jen Baker - trombone
David Bithell - trumpet
Kyle Bruckmann - oboe/english horn
Tom Dambly - trumpet
Matt Ingalls - clarinet/bass clarinet
John Ingle - saxophone
Christopher Jones - piano/conductor
David Ryther - violin
Toyoji Tomita - trombone
Erik Ulman - violin

[bullet] main | next | concerts | musicians | history | sponsors | contact

Copyright © 2003-2004 sfSoundSeries. All rights reserved.