Saturday, October 18, 2003, 8 pm
Community Music Center San Francisco
544 Capp Street (between 20th and 21st in the Mission)
admission $10

A program juxtaposing different kinds of music and different kinds of music-making. New transcriptions of John Cage's Sonatas and Interludes for Prepared Piano for ensemble rethink the orchestrational and rhythmic innovations of this classic work. Iannis Xenakis' Charisma rigorously notates extreme performance techniques in an outburst for cello and clarinet, while James Tenney's Critical Band uses hyper-precise notation of pitch to create a contemplative environment. Meanwhile, a free improvisation and David Bithell's conceptual A View of the Santa Rosa Mountains, as seen from the Borrego Badlands, Spring 1999 display the liberating potentials of music beyond notation. Rounding out the evening, featured sfSoundGroup violinist David Ryther will perform Six Capricci by the Italian composer Salvatore Sciarrino.


Iannis Xenakis - Charisma [Ma++ Ingalls, clarinet and Monica Scott, cello]
John Cage - Arrangements of 6 Sonatas and Interludes for Chamber Ensemble
      [arr. by Chris Burns, David Bithell, Ma++ Ingalls, and John Shiurba]
James Tenney - Critical Band for 16 sustaining instruments
Salvatore Sciarrino - Cappriccio [David Ryther solo violin]
David Bithell - A View of the Santa Rosa Mountains,
      as seen from the Borrego Badlands, Spring 1999

Tim Perkis, Gino Robair and John Shiurba - Improvisation


Diane Grubbe - flute
Philip Gelb - shakuhachi
Ma++ Ingalls - clarinet
Jacob Lindsay - clarinet
Chris Jones - bassoon
David Bithell - trumpet
Tom Djll - trumpet
Ernst Karel - trumpet
Toyoji Tomita - trombone
Gino Robair - percussion
John Shiurba - electric guitar
Tim Perkis - electronics
David Ryther- violin
Mark Chung - violin
Jorge Boehringer - viola
Merlin Coleman - cello
Monica Scott - cello
Hadley McCarroll - voice

[bullet] main | next | concerts | musicians | history | sponsors | contact

Copyright © 2003 sfSoundSeries. All rights reserved.