Saturday, January 10, 2004, 8 pm
Community Music Center San Francisco
544 Capp Street (between 20th and 21st in the Mission)
admission $10

A survey of the "new complexity" on the west coast and beyond, featuring works by Brian Ferneyhough, Michael Finnissy, Roger Reynolds, and the younger generation of composers they have influenced. From California we present Ferneyhough's Bone Alphabet for solo percussion, and Reynolds' ...the serpent-snapping eye... for trumpet, piano, percussion, and electronics. From England, Finnissy's Yvaroperas are a nostalgic and atmospheric tour of the history of opera, as well as an homage to Yvar Mishkakoff and John Cage.


Christopher Burns / Xerox Book for piano and percussion
Brian Ferneyhough / Bone Alphabet for percussion solo
Michael Finnissy / Yvaroperas for piano solo
Alex Hills / The Principle of Terrestrial Mediocrity for piano solo
Roger Reynolds / ...the serpent-snapping eye... for trumpet, piano, percussion, and electronics


David Bithell - trumpet
Chris Froh - percussion
Alex Hills - piano
Christopher Jones - piano
Ann Yi - piano

[bullet] main | next | concerts | musicians | history | sponsors | contact

Copyright 2003-2004 sfSoundSeries. All rights reserved.